Modi will be sworn in as PM on Sunday

The Florida Times-Union

Narendra Modi, leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is set to take oath as India’s prime minister for a record-equalling third term on Sunday.
A senior party leader said that the ceremony would take place at 6pm local time (12.30 GMT).
On Tuesday, a BJP-led coalition, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), won the general election with 293 seats.
This led to a couple of days of uncertainty over whether alliance partners would back Mr Modi and the BJP or negotiate with an opposition bloc to try and form the government.
But on Friday, NDA leaders unanimously backed Mr Modi as the leader of the coalition and their prime ministerial candidate.
At the meeting in capital Delhi, Mr Modi thanked his allies and said that the NDA would make every effort to govern the country well and take it forward.
The BJP won 240 seats in the election, several seats short of the 272 required to get a majority in India’s 543 member parliament.
On Wednesday, Mr Modi submitted his resignation to President Droupadi Murmu, and the parliament was dissolved, a formal step before a new prime minister and MPs are sworn in.


On Sunday, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Narendra Modi is scheduled to take the oath of office as prime minister of India for a record-tying third term.

The ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. local time (12:30 p.m. GMT), according to a senior party official.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), a coalition led by the BJP, secured 293 seats on Tuesday to win the general election.

The outcome surprised many because, contrary to what many exit polls had indicated, the BJP did not win an absolute majority.

Due to this, there was some uncertainty for a few days regarding whether alliance partners would support Mr. Modi and the BJP or engage in negotiations with an opposition group in an attempt to form a government.

On Friday, however, NDA leaders overwhelmingly supported Mr. Modi as their choice for prime minister and coalition leader.

Mr. Modi thanked his allies at the meeting in the nation’s capital, Delhi, and declared that the NDA would do everything in its power to lead the country forward and with good governance.

“The NDA has been in an alliance for almost thirty years; this is no small feat. “This is the most successful alliance, in my opinion,” he continued.

A few seats short of the 272 needed to secure a majority in India’s 543-member parliament, the BJP secured 240 seats in the election.

But the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)—two important BJP allies—won 16 and 12 seats, respectively, in their respective states, easily pushing the NDA past the halfway point.

Previous media reports had conjectured that the opposition alliance, having secured 234 seats, might potentially approach the TDP and JD(U) for their backing of the bloc and to establish their claim to form the government.

With the BJP’s announcement on Friday, that conjecture has been dispelled.

The coalition will assign important portfolios and reveal the names of ministers in the next few days.

There will also be curiosity about any concessions made to regional parties to keep them in the alliance, such as important ministries or financial advantages to their states.

Sources in the media indicate that Chandrababu Naidu, the leader of the TDP, may request special status for his state, Andhra Pradesh, in return for his backing.

A state is entitled to certain financial benefits for its development under this status.

It was over this exact demand that caused Mr. Naidu to leave the NDA in 2018. Months prior to the general election of this year, he rejoined the alliance.

Regarding this request, his party has not released an official statement.

In a formal move ahead of the sworn-in of a new prime minister and members of parliament, Mr. Modi tendered his resignation to President Droupadi Murmu on Wednesday.

scroll to top